Background and Beginnings

Some background…I was very close to my mother and maternal grandmother and was fortunate to have them both for a large portion of my adulthood.  My grandmother died at age 84 when I was 47 and my mother died at age 73 when I was 53.  I was blessed to have the honor of nursing my mother during her last few years as she battled cancer and was by her bedside when she took her last breath.  I only wish I could have done more for my grandmother.  To me it was only a fraction of all the love, time, and sacrifice that my mother gave me.  Both of these remarkable women taught me so much and made such a positive mark on my life.  I feel very blessed and only pray I am as good a mother and grandmother to my own children and grandchildren.

Soon after burying my mother, I was diagnosed with Stage III3C ovarian cancer and began a very difficult phase of my life in early 2008.  I currently am in recurrence and awaiting tests to determine if I have to go back on chemotherapy.  During this sad time God gave me a gift and that was the birth of my first grandchild, a little girl who is now 10 months old and the joy of my life.   She is truly my angel.

Leave a Reply

